Curriculum - Citizenship

What is Chellaston Academy Citizenship all about?

 

Citizenship covers three areas of learning; political literacy, social and moral responsibility and community involvement. You will learn about:

 

legal and human rights and responsibilities;

key aspects of parliamentary government, including elections and voting, local and central government;

the diversity of national, regional, religious and ethnic identities in the UK and the need for mutual respect and understanding;

the significance of the media;

the world as a global community and the implications of this, including the role of the European Union, the Commonwealth and the United Nations.

You may already be involved in activities within the school or the wider community which will help give you the understanding, skills and knowledge you need to become an effective member of the community as you grow older. Through such activities, you will be able to develop skills of inquiry and critical thinking; discussion and debate; and negotiation and accommodation

 

 

School Council

Here at Chellaston Academy we have a Pupil School Council.  The purpose of the Council is to support the aims of the school through inviting pupils to take part in communicating their ideas and suggestions about a wide variety of issues which will face us all in school.  Pupils are encouraged to develop skills to help them communicate, to think about important issue, to express and justify opinions, and to contribute to discussions and debates.  Pupils are also taught how to consider the experiences opinions and cultures of others.  School Councils make a positive contribution to every aspect of the school community.

 

They:

Improve academic performance

Reduce bullying and vandalism

Improve teacher-pupil relations

Each tutor group has a School Council Representative who are democratically elected through their own peers.

 

Current issues include Community Activities and Environmental Events, Charity Fund Raising, Derbyshire Youth Forum, Citizenship Work, UK Youth Parliament, Connexions, Healthy Schools Scheme and other related activities.

 

Meeting are held throughout the year and minutes of the meeting are circulated to all tutor groups after the meeting and will be posted on this website.

 

Get Involved! Your school needs you!  You can make a difference! - Every child matters.

 

If you have any questions about the school council, please contact Theo Stavri

Useful Websites

AidsMap,  http://www.aidsmap.com

Alcohol Concern,  http://www.alcoholconcern.org.uk

Alateen (Drugs and Alcohol)  www.al-anonuk.org.uk/

Amnesty International UK,  http://www.amnesty.org.uk

ANRED (Anorexia Nervosa and Related Eating Disorders), http://www.anred.com

Article 19,  http://www.article19.org

Ash,  http://www.ash.org.uk

Association for the Study of Obesity,  http://www.aso.org.uk

AVERT,  http://www.avert.org

Befrienders International,  http://www.befrienders.org

Black and Ethnic Minority Experience,  http://www.be-me.org

Boots Learning Store,  http://www.bootslearningstore.com

BrainPop,  http://www.brainpop.com

British Board of Film Classification,  http://www.bbfc.co.uk

British Nutrition Foundation,  http://www.nutrition.org.uk

Britkids,  http://www.britkid.org

Bullying,  http://www.bullying.org

Bullying Online,  http://www.bullying.co.uk

Charter 88,  http://www.charter88.org.uk

Child Poverty Action Group,  http://www.cpag.org.uk

Childline,  http://www.childline.co.uk

Citizens Connection,  http://www.citizensconnection.net

Citizenship Foundation,  http://www.citfou.org.uk

Commission for Racial Equality,  http://www.cre.gov.uk

Connections Direct  www.connexions-direct.com/

Consumer Education,  http://www.consumereducation.org.uk

Count me in  http://www.count-me-in.org/

Cruse Bereavement Care  www.rd4u.org.uk/

Crisis,  http://www.crisis.org.uk

Cyber SHS,  http://www.cybershs.co.uk

Depression Alliance,  http://www.depressionalliance.org

Diary of a Teenage Health Freak, http://www.teenagehealthfreak.org

Drugscope,  http://www.drugscope.org.uk

Eating Disorders, Association,  http://www.edauk.com

Equal Opportunities Commission,  http://www.eoc.org.uk

Exit, Euthanasia,  http://www.euthanasia.org

Explore Parliament,  http://www.explore.parliament.uk

ePolitix,  http://www.epolitix.com

Factfile 2001,  http://www.carelpress.com

FRANK (Talk To Frank),  http://www.talktofrank.com

Get Sussed and Choose  www.sussed.uk.net/

Get Connected  www.getconnected.org.uk/

Gay Youth UK,  http://www.gayyouthuk.co.uk

Guardian Unlimited, http://www.educationunlimited.co.uk/netclass/schools/pshe/

Housemate (Homelessness),  http://www.housemate.org.uk

Human Rights Watch,  http://www.hrw.org

Index on Censorship,  http://www.indexoncensorship.org

iRespect,  http://www.irespect.net

Liberty, http://www.liberty-human-rights.org.uk

Lifebytes,  http://www.lifebytes.gov.uk

Like It Is,  http://www.likeitis.org.uk

Lovelife,  http://www.lovelife.uk.com

Mental Health Foundation,  http://www.mentalhealth.org.uk

National AIDS Trust,  http://www.nat.org.uk

NACAB (National Associations of Citizens Advice Bureaux), http://www.nacab.org.uk

NSPCC,  http://www.nspcc.org.uk

Office of the Data Protection Register, http://www.dataprotection.gov.uk

Privacy International,  http://www.privacyinternational.org

Pupiline,  http://www.pupiline.net

Roofie Foundation (Drug rape & sexual abuse) http://www.roofie.com/main.htm

RSPCA,  http://www.rspca.org.uk

The Samaritans,  http://www.samaritans.org.uk

Sex, AIDS and relationships,  http://www.avert.org

Sex Education Forum,  http://www.ncb.org.uk

Shelter,  http://www.shelter.org.uk

TheSite,  http://www.TheSite.org

Something Fishy Website on Eating Disorders, http://www.something-fishy.org

Stonewall,  http://www.stonewall.org.uk

Thailand (Confessions of a teenage drug addict), http://www.thailandlife.com

There4Me,  http://www.there4me.com

ThinkUKnow,  http://www.thinkuknow.co.uk

Time for Citizenship,  http://www.timeforcitizenship.com

TIPS Tobacco Information and Prevention Source, http://www.cdc.gov

Trashed,  http://www.trashed.co.uk

21st Century Citizen,  http://www.21citizen.org.uk

UK Online,  http://www.ukonline.gov.uk

Young Carers  www.childrenssociety.org.uk/youngcarers/

Young Carers  www.youngcarers.net

YourTurn,  http://www.yourturn.net

Youth Zone,  http://www.met.police.uk/youth

Youth Enquiry service  wycyes@waitrose.com

The Economist,  http://www.economist.com/

Electoral Commission,  http://www.electoralcommission.gov.uk/

European Parliament UK Office,  http://www.europarl.org.uk

EU British Office,  http://www.europarl.org.uk/index.htm

EU Elections,  http://www.psr.keele.ac.uk/area/uk/eu.htm

Foreign Office,  http://www.fco.gov.uk/

Government,  http://www.ukonline.gov.uk

Govt. Press Releases,  http://www.coi.gov.uk/

Headsup,  http://www.headsup.org.uk

Houses of Parliament,  http://www.parliament.uk/

Labour Party,  http://www.labour.org.uk/

Liberal Democrats, http://www.libdems.org.uk/

Northern Ireland Government,  http://www.nics.gov.uk/

Press Association,  http://www.pa-press.net/

Scottish Affairs,  http://www.scotland.gov.uk/pages/default.aspx

Socialist Alliance Party,  http://www.socialistalliance.net/

Treasury Office,  http://www.hm-treasury.gov.uk/

2001 Election,  http://www.psr.keele.ac.uk/area/uk/ge01.htm

2001 Election,  http://www.election.demon.co.uk/

Wales Office,  http://www.ossw.wales.gov.uk/

BBC News Service,  http://news.bbc.co.uk/

Britpolitics,  http://www.britpolitics.com

British Constitution,  http://www.psr.keele.ac.uk/const.htm#british

Cabinet Office,  http://www.cabinet-office.gov.uk/

Communist Party GB,  http://www.cpgb.org.uk/

Conservative Party,  http://www.conservatives.com/

Department of Trade and Industry,  http://www.dti.gov.uk/

Downing Street,  http://www.number-10.gov.uk

Navigation